Shop Hours: Mon - Thurs 10a-6p, Fri 10a-8pm, Sat 10a-6p CST

ANDY,HORACE / SLY & ROBBIE / Livin' It Up (RSD-2024)

Label: Diggers Factory Vendor: Amplified Media Services, LLC Distributor: AMPED UPC: 843655017005 Genre: Reggae Release Date: 4/20/2024
4 in stock
Curbside Pickup Mon-Thur 10a-6p, Fri 10a-8p, Sat 10a-6p CST
Article number: DGGF1700.1

In early 2006, TABOU1 producer Guillaume Bougard booked Harry J Studio for a week to record twelve new songs by Horace Andy following the highly successful Mek It Bun, released a couple of years before

To back such a legendary artist, TABOU1 asked Sly & Robbie and the Revolutionaries (Channel One studio band in the late ‘70s) to work the "old school" way: all musicians would play live, together and in one take, as opposed to recording their parts separately as is now done in modern music.

The result is stunning, with luminaries Ansel Collins and Robbie Lyn on keyboards and organ, Sticky Thompson and Skully Sims on percussions, Dalton Browne and Dougie Bryan on guitar. Bob Marley's synth wizard Tyrone Downie added some musical pixie dust while Stepper did the horns.

Several legends came to visit the studio during the sessions and asked Sly & Robbie to voice some of the riddims being recorded, including Bunny Rugs from Third Word and Gregory Isaacs who voiced one of his best tunes, Poor Man in Love in one take.

Horace was in fine form during the week he worked with the band, recording 13 tracks. We at TABOU1 are proud to release this wonderful album for the first time on a limited vinyl edition for Record Store Day.

A1 I'm Alive 07:12
A2 Zion Gate 05:31
A3 Livin' It Up 04:58
A4 One Love 04:00
B1 True Love 04:47
B2 Sharing The Love 06:42
B3 Bless You 03:44
B4 Skylarking 04:16
B5 King Of Kings 04:51