Shop Hours: Mon - Thurs 10a-6p, Fri 10a-8pm, Sat 10a-6p CST


LABEL: Stony Plain UPC: 772532149570 GENRE: Blues RELEASE DATE: 6/28/2024
2 in stock
Curbside Pickup Mon-Thur 10a-6p, Fri 10a-8p, Sat 10a-6p CST
Article number: SYPL1495.1

The Fabulous Thunderbirds is a familiar name for anyone into contemporary blues and blues rock. This is the band that created classic albums like T-Bird Rhythm and Tuff Enuff, powered by hits like the title track and "Wrap It Up," Tuff Enuff went platinum, selling more than one million copies. Led by founding member Kim Wilson, the Fabulous Thunderbirds have been nominated for Grammy Awards six times and for Blues Music Awards more than 20 times.

Formed in 1974, the band celebrates their 50th anniversary with the release of their first new studio album in eight years - Struck Down. Struck Down features 9 original new songs co-written by Hamilton bluesman Steve Strongman & Kim Wilson and a stellar cover of Memphis Minnie's song "Nothin' in Ramblin. The album was produced by Kim Wilson, Steve Strongman & Glen Parrish, recorded in New Jersey and Hamilton, and mixed by Shelly Yakus (John Lennon/U2/Tom Petty). Guests include Billy Gibbons on the first single "Payback Time", and Bonnie Raitt, Taj Mahal, Keb' Mo' and Mick Fleetwood on the sole cover song on the album, Memphis Minnie's "Nothing In Rambling." Stand out tracks include the opening track "Struck Down By The Blues" featuring Steve Strongman on guitar, the Cajun-flavored "Don't Make No Sense" featuring Terrance Simien on accordion, "Watcha Do To Me" featuring Elvin Bishop, and the wistful closing track "Sideline." The band continues to tour internationally selling out venues and headlining festivals with the current line-up of Kim Wilson on vocals and harmonica, Johnny Moeller on guitar, Bob Welsh on keyboards & guitar, Rudy Albin on drums, and Steve Kirsty on bass.

1 Struck Down By the Blues (FT Steve Strongman)
2 Don't Make No Sense (FT Terrance Simien)
3 Payback Time (FT Billy Gibbons)
4 Nothing in Rambling (FT Bonnie Raitt, Keb' Mo, Taj Mahal & Mick Fleetwood)
5 Won't Give Up
6 The Hard Way
7 Whatcha Do to Me (FT Elvin Bishop)
8 I've Got Eyes
9 That's Cold
10 Sideline